• English Language Proficiency Assessments for California (ELPAC)



  • About the ELPAC:

    The ELPAC is California's assessment system that is used to determine the English proficiency of students whose primary language is not English. The ELPAC is aligned with the 2012 California English Language Development Standards and assesses four domains: Listening, Speaking, Reading, and Writing.

    Who takes the ELPAC?

    • Initial ELPAC
      • It is given to students in kindergarten (K) through grade 12 whose primary language is not English to determine their ELP status.
    • Summative ELPAC
      • It is given to students in kindergarten through grade 12 who have been identified as EL students. These students will take the assessment every year until they are reclassified as fluent English proficient.

    Why is the ELPAC given?

    • Intial ELPAC
      • The purpose of the Initial ELPAC is to determine the English Proficiency of students entering California schools for the first time. Identifying students who need help learning English is important, so students get the extra help they need to do well in school while receiving instruction in all school subjects.
    • Summative ELPAC
      • The purpose of the Summative ELPAC is to measure progress toward English language proficiency, to inform EL programs and services, and to help determine if a student is ready to be reclassified.

    How is the ELPAC given?

    The ELPAC is a computer-based assessment for all domains for grades three through twelve, and for all domains for K through grade two, except writing, which is a paper-pencil test.  All domains are administered individually for grades k through two, except grade two writing, which may be administered in small groups.

    Testing Window:

    Initial ELPAC: Ongoing

    Summative ELPAC: February 1, 2023 - May 26, 2023

    Additional Information

    See below for more information.


If you are having trouble viewing the document, you may download the document.
Last Modified on January 13, 2023