Board Trustee, Candelaria Vargas

Posted by the Community Relations Office on 2/15/2019

Candelaria Vargas

Question & Answer

Where were you born?

Bakersfield, California

Name one thing would you like to accomplish as a trustee this year?

I want to ensure that our students and staff have the resources they need for a quality education.

Tell us about your family?

I have a 2-year-old daughter and I am pregnant with my second child who is due on July 27, 2019. My husband is a local public servant and attorney. I have a younger brother living in Sacramento who works in child protective social services as a supervising social worker. My mother passed away at the age of 42 and my father at the age of 49. My grandparents from both sides migrated from Texas to Californias Central Valley as a result of the dust bowl. They were farm laborers and dairy hands who migrated up and down the Central Valley; Following the seasonal crops. As a result, I have many family members living throughout the Central Valley from Bakersfield to Sacramento.

What is your educational background?

I have a masters degree in Public Administration (MPA) from California State University, Stanislaus, a bachelors degree in Spanish Literature & Pedagogy, and a minor in International Relations (BA) from the University of the Pacific.

What is your career?

Campaign Manager for Daily Kos.

What are your hobbies?

Spending time with my daughter Athena, as well as reading, running, wine tasting, traveling, cooking, and eating!

What is your favorite quote?

"I don't study to know more, but to ignore less." -Sor Juana Inés de la Cruz

Who is your hero? Please tell us why.

My mom! She survived domestic violence and sexual abuse all while caring unconditionally for my brother and me. She showed us both that education was the way out of our life of poverty and abuse and into the life we always dreamed of having for ourselves. She saved our lives in countless ways and I am forever thankful for her love and guidance.

What other boards and committees do you serve on?

First 5 of San Joaquin Advisory Committee and Joaquin Magazine Editorial Board.

What is your all-time favorite book?

Cien años de soledad by Gabriel García Márquez and Redondillas by Sor Juana Inés de la Cruz

What is your favorite thing about Stockton?

The many cultures and the diversity of our community.

Where is your favorite place to spend time?

At our public libraries and parks with my daughter Athena.

Where is your favorite place to dine?

Taquería Carolina on Pershing and March Ln, Tokyo Ramen on Pershing and Robinhood, Casagrande's on Country Club Blvd.