MTSS Framework

  • California MTSS Framework

    Our model includes the following:


    Tier I Academic Program (Daily instruction for all students)

    • Professional Learning Communities
      • Driven by the 4 PLC Questions
      • Focused on essential learning outcomes
      • Create and Use Common Formative Assessments (CFAs)
      • Create SMART goals that are aligned with the school and district goals
      • Systemically analyze results from the CFA to
        • Identify the most effective practices
        • Monitor student learning to plan re-teaching
        • Differentiate Instruction
        • Create and modify flexible grouping for targeted re-teaching
    • Balanced Classrooms/Heterogeneous grouping of students at all grade levels
    • Viable Curriculum
      • The Units of Study in ELA and Math K-12
      • ELD grades 2-8
      • Other adopted curricula
    • Researched-based instructional practices
    • English Language Development
      • Integrated and designated instruction t all English Learners


    Tier I Social Emotional Learning (School-wide every day)

    • Positive Behavior Intervention and Supports model (PBIS)
    • Peer Leaders Uniting Students at all SUSD schools (PLUS)

    Tiers II and III for both Academic and Social Emotional Learning are in place at all schools, but not all consistently in use.  Return to this page to watch our program develop in the 18-19 school year.